
                   Friday        29th          February, 2008. 

 
On November 16, 2007 came the Virginia State Bar, by Howard W. 

Martin, Jr., its President, and Thomas A. Edmonds, its Executive 

Director and Chief Operating Officer, and presented to the Court a 

petition, approved by the Council of the Virginia State Bar, praying 

that Paragraph 13, Section IV, of the Rules for Integration of the 

Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of Court, be amended.  The 

petition is approved, as modified by the Court, and Paragraph 13 is 

amended to read as follows: 

 
13. Procedure for Disciplining, Suspending, and Disbarring 

Attorneys.  
 
 *    *    * 
 

H. District Committee Proceedings 
 

1. Pre-Hearing Matters 
 

a. Charge of Misconduct 
 

*    *    * 
 

(2) After the Respondent has been served with the Charge of 

Misconduct, the Respondent shall, within 21 days after service of 

the Charge of Misconduct: 

(a) file an answer to the Charge of Misconduct, which answer 

shall be deemed consent to the jurisdiction of the District 

Committee; or 

(b) file an answer to the Charge of Misconduct and a demand 

with the Clerk of the Disciplinary System that the proceedings 

before the District Committee be terminated and that further 

proceedings be conducted pursuant to Va. Code § 54.1-3935; and 

simultaneously provide available dates for a hearing not less than 

30 nor more than 120 days from the date of the demand.   

Upon such demand and provision of available dates as specified 
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above, further proceedings before the District Committee shall 

terminate, and Bar Counsel shall file the complaint required by Va. 

Code § 54.1-3935.  The hearing shall be scheduled as soon as 

practicable.  However, the 30 to 120 day time frame shall not 

constitute a deadline for the hearing to be held. 

 
*    *    * 

 
4. Perfecting an Appeal from District Committee’s 

Determination 
 

a. By the Respondent 
 
(1)  Notice of Appeal; Demand.  Within ten days after service 

on the Respondent of the District Committee Determination, the 

Respondent may file with the Clerk of the Disciplinary System either 

a notice of appeal to the Board or a notice of appeal and a written 

demand that further Proceedings be conducted pursuant to Va. Code § 

54.1-3935. In either case, the Respondent shall send copies to the 

District Committee Chair and to Bar Counsel. 

Upon such demand, further proceedings before the Board shall 

terminate, and Bar Counsel shall file the complaint required by Va. 

Code § 54.1-3935.  The hearing shall be scheduled as soon as 

practicable.  

If the Respondent fails to file a demand, as specified above, 

the Respondent shall be deemed to have consented to the jurisdiction 

of the Board. 

 
 *    *    * 
 

(4) Appeal to a Circuit Court. An appeal to a Circuit Court 

pursuant to Va. Code § 54.1-3935 shall be conducted before a duly 

convened three-judge Circuit Court as an appeal on the record using 

the same procedure prescribed for an appeal of a District Committee 

Determination before the Board under this Paragraph. The Clerk of 

the Disciplinary System shall forward the record to the clerk of the 



 3

designated Circuit Court only upon receipt of the transcript as 

provided in the preceding subparagraph. 

*    *    * 

 
I.  Board Proceedings 

 
 1. Pre-Hearing Matters 
 
 a. Procedure on Certification to the Board 
 

(1) After a Subcommittee or District Committee certifies a 

matter to the Board, and the Respondent has been served with the 

Certification, the Respondent shall, within 21 days after service of 

the Certification: 

(a) file an answer to the Certification with the Clerk of the 

Disciplinary System, which answer shall be deemed consent to the 

jurisdiction of the Board; or 

(b) file an answer to the Certification and a demand with the 

Clerk of the Disciplinary System that the proceedings before the 

Board be terminated and that further proceedings be conducted 

pursuant to Va. Code § 54.1-3935; and simultaneously provide 

available dates for a hearing not less than 30 nor more than 120 

days from the date of the demand. 

Upon such demand and provision of available dates as specified 

above, further proceedings before the Board shall terminate, and Bar 

Counsel shall file the complaint required by Va. Code § 54.1-3935.  

The hearing shall be scheduled as soon as practicable. However, the 

30 to 120 day time frame shall not constitute a deadline for the 

hearing to be held. 

 *    *    * 
 
b. Expedited Hearings 

 
*   *   * 

 
(5) At least five days prior to the date set for hearing, the 
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Respondent shall either:  

(a) file an answer to the petition with the Clerk of the 

Disciplinary System, which answer shall be conclusively deemed 

consent to the jurisdiction of the Board; or 

(b) file an answer and a demand with the Clerk of the 

Disciplinary System that proceedings before the Board be terminated 

and that further proceedings be conducted pursuant to Va. Code     § 

54.1-3935; and simultaneously provide available dates for a hearing 

not less than 30 nor more than 120 days from the date of the Board 

order.  

Upon such demand and provision of available dates as specified 

above, further proceedings before the Board shall be terminated and 

Bar Counsel shall file the complaint required by Va. Code § 54.1-

3935. The hearing shall be scheduled as soon as practicable. 

However, the 30 to 120 day time frame shall not constitute a 

deadline for the hearing to be held. If any order of summary 

Suspension has been entered, such Suspension shall remain in effect 

until the court designated under Va. Code § 54.1-3935 enters a final 

order disposing of the issue before it. 

If the Respondent fails to file an answer, or an answer and a 

demand, and provide available dates, as specified above, the 

Respondent shall be deemed to have consented to the jurisdiction of 

the Board. 

 *    *    * 
 

5. Proceedings upon First Offender Plea, Guilty Plea or 
Adjudication of a Crime 

 
a. Plea under First Offender Statute 

 
*    *    * 

 
(3) If the Attorney elects to have further proceedings 

conducted pursuant to Va. Code § 54.1-3935, the Attorney shall file 

a demand with the Clerk of the Disciplinary System not later than 
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ten days prior to the date set for the Board hearing, and 

simultaneously provide available dates for a hearing not less than 

30 nor more than 120 days from the date of the demand.  

Upon such demand and provision of available dates as specified 

above, further proceedings before the Board shall be terminated and 

Bar Counsel shall file the complaint required by Va. Code § 54.1-

3935. The hearing shall be scheduled as soon as practicable. 

However, the 30 to 120 day time frame shall not constitute a 

deadline for the hearing to be held.  

If the Respondent fails to file a demand, and provide available 

dates, as specified above, the Respondent shall be deemed to have 

consented to the jurisdiction of the Board. 

*    *    * 
   

b. Guilty Plea or Adjudication of a Crime 
 

(1) Whenever the Clerk of the Disciplinary System receives 

written notification from any court of competent jurisdiction 

stating that an Attorney (the “Respondent”) has been found guilty or 

convicted of a Crime by a Judge or jury, pled guilty to a Crime or 

entered a plea wherein the facts found by a court would justify a 

finding of guilt, irrespective of whether sentencing has occurred, a 

member of the Board shall forthwith and summarily issue an order of 

Suspension on behalf of the Board against the Respondent and shall 

forthwith cause to be served upon the Respondent: a copy of the 

written notification from the court; a copy of the Board member’s 

order; and a notice fixing the time and place of a hearing to 

determine whether Revocation or further Suspension is appropriate. 

The hearing shall be set not less than 14 nor more than 30 days 

after the date of the Board’s order.  Upon written request of the 

Respondent, the hearing may be continued until any probation ordered 

by a court has ended or after sentencing has occurred.  Upon receipt 

by the Board of a certified copy of a notice of appeal from the 
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conviction, proceedings before the Board shall, upon request of the 

Respondent, be continued pending disposition of such appeal.  The 

Board shall, upon request of the Respondent, hold an interim hearing 

and shall terminate such Suspension while the probation, sentencing, 

or appeal is pending, if the Board finds that such Suspension, if 

not terminated, would be likely to exceed the discipline imposed by 

the Board upon a hearing on the merits of the case. 

Upon presentation to the Board of a certified copy of an order 

setting aside the verdict or reversing the conviction on appeal, any 

Suspension shall be automatically terminated and any Revocation 

shall be vacated, and the License shall be deemed automatically 

reinstated.  Discharge or Dismissal of a guilty plea or termination 

of probation shall not result in the automatic termination of the 

Suspension or vacation of the Revocation. Nothing herein shall 

preclude further proceedings against the Respondent upon Charges of 

Misconduct arising from the facts leading to such conviction. 

(2) Procedure 
 
The procedure applicable to Proceedings related to Misconduct 

shall apply to Proceedings relating to guilty pleas or Adjudication 

of a Crime.  

If the Respondent elects to have further Proceedings conducted 

pursuant to Va. Code § 54.1-3935, the Respondent shall file a demand 

with the Clerk of the Disciplinary System not later than ten days 

prior to the date set for the hearing before the Board, and 

simultaneously provide available dates for a hearing not less than 

30 nor more than 120 days from the date of the demand.  

Upon such demand and provision of available dates as specified 

above, further proceedings before the Board shall be terminated and 

Bar Counsel shall file the complaint required by Va. Code § 54.1-

3935. The hearing shall be scheduled as soon as practicable. 

However, the 30 to 120 day time frame shall not constitute a 

deadline for the hearing to be held. The order of Suspension issued 
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by the Board shall remain in effect until the court designated under 

Va. Code § 54.1-3935 enters a final order disposing of the issue 

before it.  

If the Respondent fails to file a demand, and provide available 

dates, as specified above, the Respondent shall be deemed to have 

consented to the jurisdiction of the Board. 

(3) Action by the Board at the Hearing 
 

If the Board finds at the hearing that the Respondent has been 

found guilty or convicted of a Crime by a Judge or jury, pled guilty 

to a Crime or entered a plea wherein the facts found by a court 

would justify a finding of guilt, an order shall be issued, and a 

copy thereof served upon the Respondent in which the Board shall: 

(a) continue the Suspension or issue an order of Suspension 

against the Respondent for a stated period not in excess of five 

years; or 

(b) issue an order of Revocation against the Respondent. 
 

*    *    * 

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the Rules for 

Integration of the Virginia State Bar, Part Six of the Rules of  

Court, be and the same hereby are amended in accordance with the 

prayer of the petition aforesaid, effective May 1, 2008. 

 
     A Copy, 
 
      Teste: 
 
 
 
        Clerk 


