POLICY FOR FINES & COSTS
ASSESSED BY THE PAGE COUNTY
JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS COURT
EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2021

Each defendant appearing before this Court who has been assessed fines, costs and/or penalties at
sentencing is encouraged to pay any money due and owing con the date of appearance.

If the defendant requests a time to pay {via form DC210) the staff shall carefully review their financial
situation to determine if indeed a deferred payment may be warranted. It is not this Court’s intent to
cause hardship on anyone’s lifestyle but to collect the money due and owing to the Commonwealth of
Virginia. It is our policy that a payment agreement be entered that is beneficial to both the defendant
and the Commonwealth. This office offers a deferred payment, to be paid by a date certain, within a
reasonable amount of time, or, in some cases, community service in lieu of payment. Any request to
satisfy fines and costs by community service must be submitted to the Judge for determination. (Virginia
Code Section 19.2-254)

If the defendant is unable to pay the fines and costs on the day of judgment but CAN pay within 90 days,
no default will occur. If the defendant cannot pay the monies owed within 90 days, then the defendant
can enter a time to pay/deferred payment agreement for a fee of $10.00 (which cannot be waived). This
fee is a one-time. There is no down payment required for this agreement.

A defendant whose fines and costs have been referred to the collections process under Virginia Code
Section 19.2-349 shall be eligible for a subsequent payment agreement with the Court; however, this
Court CANNOT stop the collection process. When monies are received more than the amount due, they
will be refunded to the defendant.

Defendants shall keep this Court informed of their address if they owe money to this Court.

SEEN AND SO ORDERED:
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Rachel Figura, Judge



‘fn._“l!;i.-
COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

26th District Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court
For the County of Page
116 South Court Street; Suite F
Luray, VA 22835
540-743-4152
Fax: 540-743-4690

July 1,2021

Community Service Policy

Fines and costs due to this court may be discharged by performing
community service hours at the rate of $7.25 per hour. Arrangements
are to be made to do this with the court staff, in the clerk's office,
immediately following the imposition of those fines and costs.

Rachel Figura,@dge



