VIRGINIA:

|
IN THE GENERAL DISTRICT COURTSFOR THE ELEVENTH JUDICIAL
DISTRICT

ORDER

Comes now the Court pursuant to Virginia Code Section 19.2-353.3 throughA 19.2-355
and notes the following requirements for the collection of fines and Court costs in the
General District Courts for the Eleventh Judicial District:

If a defendant, appearing before the Court, is unable to pay fines, cost, restitution or
penalties lmpoéed by the Court within 90 days of the conviction date, the defendants will
be eligible to enter into a deferred payment, instaliment payment, and modified deferred
payment agreements. No time to pay fee will be charged on any account.

When a defendant enters payment arrangements, the court shall not require an initial
down payment. A defendant who enters into a payment agreement shall promptly
inform the cour_i in writing of any change of mailing address during the term of the
agreement. t

The following guidelines will be followed:

$1.00 - $149.é9: additional 30 days; $ 150.00 - $299.00: additional 60 days; $ 300.00 -
$499.99: additic}nal 90 days; $ 500.00 - $999.99 additional 6 months; $ 1000.00 and
above: additional 12 months

When a defendant enters into any subsequent payment agreement, the Court shall
require a down payment. If the fines and cost owed are $500 or less, the required down
payment will not exceed 10% of the amount owed. If fines and costs owed are more
than $500, the required down payment will not exceed 5% of the amount owed or $50,
whichever is greater.

If the defendarj;t does not pay the account in full by the given due date or enter into a
new payment agreement, the account will be considered delinquent and the delinquent
amounts owed shall be increased by 17% to help offset the costs of collections. No
interest shall accrue; for 180 days from the date of conviction, during any period of
incarceration, or for 180 days from release of mcarceratlon if the sentence included an
active period of incarceration -



A 4% convemence fee is added each time a payment is made with a debit or credit
card.

Time to pay agreements are not issued online, however, the DC-211 form is available
for the defendant to fill out prior to coming to the Clerk’s office. The form can be located
at www, vacourfs gov. Defendants can request the time to pay agreement in the Clerk’s
office, by fax, or by mail. The defendant MUST be the only person to fill out the form
and sign it. The:court will not accept the forms if they are completed and/or signed by
anyone other than the defendant.

Restitution: State law requires that all payments be applied to restitution before fines
and costs. If your case has been referred for collection enforcement, the increase rate
fee must be collected at the time of the restitution payment.

If granted by the Court, community service work may be used as an option to defray
fines and costsf-; especially when the defendant is unable to make substantial payments.
Community service shall not be credited against any amount owed as restitution. Each
hour of commuhity service performed will be at the current Virginia minimum wage rate.

To receive creéjit for community service, work the defendant must:
1) Volunteer foi:r a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization.
!
2) Submit an original letter, copies will not be accepted, on the letterhead of the non-
profit organization stating the number of volunteer hours preformed and listing the dates

the volunteer service was performed, signed by the supervising non-profit employee.

3) Submit the d:riginal letter to the Clerk’s office on or before the payment due date. The
court will not grant any extension or exception for letters that are not timely received.

If the defendarit is unable to read or write, the court, or the clerk, may assist the
defendant in completing the petition and require him to affix his mark thereto. The
consequences c')f the making of a false statement shall be explained to such defendant.
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Date ~Ray P. Lupold lil, Chief Judge



COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA:

IN THE JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURT OF THE COUNTY OF
NOTTOWAY

ORDER

Pursuant to 19.2-354 & 46.2-395 of the Code of Virginia as amended the Clerk of Court, and/or
her deputies, is hereby authorized to establish and approve the conditions of all deferred or installment
payment agreements for persons seeking additional time to pay or persons seeking reinstatement of a
suspended license for non-payment of fines, costs, forfeitures, restitution, or payments lawfully assessed
against him, pursuant to the foliowing guidelines:

a. When entering into payment arrangements the defendant must make an initial down
payment of 10% with remaining payments due according to the following:

$ 1.00-$149.00: additional 30 days

$ 150.00-$299.00: additional 60 days

$ 300.00-499.00:  additional 90 days

$ 500.00-$999.00: additional 6 months
$1000.00 & above: additional 12 months to pay

Unpaid fines and costs are turned over to the collections process after 40 days. Any
defendants whose fines and costs have been referred to collections are also eligible
to enter into a payment plan with the Court. Entry into a time to pay plan will extend
the due dates of all fines and costs, regardless of amount, even if the account is in
collections.

b. [f defendant is not able to abide by the initial agreement, they must contact the
Clerk’s office, prior to the suspension date, to request an extension on the initial

deferred agreement,

c. If defendant defaults, their privilege to drive in the Commonwealth will be suspended,
however upon the defendant paying the reinstatement fee to DMV, they are eligible
to enter into a subsequent payment plan with the Court.

d. When a defendant enters into a payment plan, the District Court will assess a one-
time fee of $10.00 to cover the costs of management of the defendants account until

such account is paid in full.

e. Times to pay agreements are issued from 8:00am-4:00pm Monday through Friday
with the exception of holidays and weekends. Time to pay agreements are not issued
or initiated online. Defendants must come to the Clerk’s office to request, complete,
and sign all paperwork, the court will not authorize family members, etc to fill out
requests or sign any forms. The Court will accept all methods of payment, including
personal checks.

f. Defendants employment status does not affect him/her from entering into a payment
plan. However the Court may still request employment infornation from any
defendant when completing paymeént plan forms.

This directive is in e

. W. Southall Jy.. Ghief Judge
Entered this ay of September 2015



